Agreements Reached in Addis Ababa Failed to Address Major Problems: Panaruu Community in Juba

Date: October, 14, 2012
To: 1st Lt Gen. Salva Kiir Mayardit
President of Republic of South Sudan
Chairman of the SPLM Party
C-in-C of the SPLA Army
CC: Hon. Dr. Riek Machar Teny, VP of the Republic of South Sudan
CC: Hon. James Wani Igga, Speaker of the South Sudan National Parliament
CC: Council of States
CC: H.EPagan Amum Okiech, SPLM SG & Chief Negotiator
CC: Hilde Johnson, Head of the UNMISS
CC: Gov. Taban Deng Gai, Governor of Unity State
CC: Miabek Lang Bilkuei, Commissioner of Panrieng County
CC: Deng Athuai, Head of Civil Society, South Sudan

Sub: Panaruu Community in Juba have rejected the security arrangements and border agreement recently signed in Addis Ababa

Juba, October 15, 2012 (SSNA) — October, 14/ 2012. Panaruu Community of Panrieng County, Unity State in Juba have rejected the recent security and border agreement signed in Addis Ababa between the republic of south Sudan and North Sudan. This comes after the Sunday community meeting at South Sudan Hotel One. The meeting comes before one day of Presidential address of the parliament to ratify the agreement signed on September 27, 2012 after marathon summit between the two Presidents of South Sudan and North Sudan.

Panaruu Community seconded other agreements even if we have some reservations about the overall context and their future applications with the exception of security arrangements and Soft border agreement. Panaruu Community was first equally affected in numerous ways during the war, equally contributed during the war, and will be first affected if any eventuality takes place between South-North areas as it recently happened during the 10 days war of Panthou.

And because of these reasons, we strongly believe that Panaruu Community is equal stake holder like other border communities and they should not be ignored, but be included in any process so that workable, lasting and durable solutions be reached. Exclusive and discriminatory policies of the past should be avoided so that we live in a country that belongs to all of us, not theoretically, but in practicality. We therefore want the government of South Sudan under the leadership of Gen. President Salva Kiir Mayardit to be a government of people, by the people, and for the people. A government that listens to its citizens was a cause for the war that claimed millions of lives during the civil war. We cannot afford to live under political, economic, social, and cultural deprivation as it happened under former successive regimes of Khartoum before South Sudan become independent in July 2011.

Panaruu Community meeting resolved the followings:

1. Formation of border follow-up committee with the national government and its Chief Negotiator and the team;
2. Panaruu Community is in solidarity with the Northern Bhar El Ghazall State position on mile 14 area;
3. Seconded all the agreements with the exception of border and security arrangements
4. Requested that border communities be represented during the next round of disputed/contested and claimed areas that will takes place soon or later in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia;
5. That all border communities be represented at all level of border and other technical committees;
6. That the post-succession delegation headed by H.E. Pagan Amum Okiech brief Panaruu Community;  
7. That consultation be made before next round of border talks in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia;
8. That all 4 freedoms be reviewed and regulated before they become a law;
9. That we must not give away our rights to North Sudan because of worsening economic situation and the political pressures from the international community;
10. That all border communities not be excluded from the all processes like before during the CPA negotiation and implementation processes;
11. That all deals must not be done at the expense of others as it is always the case;
12. That any deal must be win-win solution;
13. That Panthou and Jau Payams are part and parcel of the Panrieng County and not be put of the proposed Safe Demilitarized Border Zone (SDBZ);
14. That Panaruu Community rejected AUHIP Map which delineated some crucial border areas that belong to our farming communities;
15. That AUHIP must accept tribal maps for next round of talks on disputed/contested and claimed areas to forge the way forward so that a fair settlement is reached;
16.  That AUHIP should be fair to South Sudan and North Sudan when it comes to mediation, facilitation, and resolutions.

Panaruu Community recommended the following:

1. That President Salva Kiir Mayardit must listen to Panaruu Community in regards to border and security arrangements because this is a very sensitive issue, which will always jeopardize the peaceful existence of the community at the border;
2. That President evaluates the negotiating team before next round of talks because some of the team members are weak to talk tougher with North Sudan when discussing issues;
3. That negotiating team under leadership of H.E Pagan Amum briefs the border communities, including Panaruu Community, otherwise ignoring border communities must be out of touch and deliberate discriminate/exclusivity as it has been always the case. H.E Pagan Amum was wrong when he said that “those who criticize the deal are out of ignorance,” [source: Sudantribune);
4. That zero point must be at Kolek (Kelek), not at Koloch (Teshwin) as proposed;
5. That Panthou Payam has been a disputed area, not a claimed area as it seems to be misunderstood or mystified by many in the South and beyond because it has been a point of recent disagreement and war;
6. That Jau Payam is part and parcel of Panrieng County and must not be mystified politically as disputed/contested or claim area during any deal;
7. We recommend that Panaruu Community be included in border and security arrangement talk and implementation processes;
8. That Government of Republic of South Sudan negotiating team must negotiate faithfully, not out fear or under pressure from any source.


Signed by:

William Deng Ayai Thuc, Community Chairman
Dominic Dau Anyang, Youth Chairman
Mary Abui, Women Chairperson
Simon Achut Kueth, Acting Chairperson of Youth
Previous Post
Do Not Cede Our Land to Khartoum: Aweil Community in Diaspora
Next Post
The Position of the SPLM-DC on Sudan-South Sudan Cooperation Agreement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.