Disagreement Emerges Over the Inclusion of Other Countries in Peace Talks

Addis Ababa, December 22, 2014 (SSNA) — Member states of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) are sharply divided over a decision by the African Union (AU) to include five nations in the IGAD mediated peace talks in Ethiopia, an African Union (AU) diplomatic source who demanded anonymity because he was not authorized to speak on the issue told the South Sudan News Agency (SSNA).

The countries that have been chosen by the AU to be part of the IGAD mediated peace talks are Republic of Rwanda, Chad, Federal Republic of Nigeria, and the Republic of South Africa.

“Yoweri Museveni of Uganda doesn’t like some countries, particularly Nigeria and South Africa. He tried to launch a formal complaint against the inclusion of these two countries [South Africa and Nigeria], but, he knows it is a game he cannot win in the union,” the source said.

“The AU was expecting Museveni to submit his protest because he has been telling his friends about his frustration against the AU decision to include nations he doesn’t trust,” the source added.

The wrangling is the latest sign of deep division among IGAD member states on South Sudan’s peace process, with Uganda publicly supporting South Sudan’s government.

The source further added Museveni changed his mind after South Sudanese president Salva Kiir suddenly went to South Africa this month.

South Sudan marks its first year anniversary of war this month

Previous Post
South Sudan Nuer students and entire communities in Addis Ababa concluded the commemoration Day
Next Post
China Ready to Send Troops to South Sudan to Protect Civilians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.