SPLM/A-IO elects new leadership in the United States

Press release
28 May 2015

Re: SPLM/SPLA (USA) elects new leadership in a fair and free elections

United States, May 28, 2015 (SSNA) — Based on directives from the Chairman and Commander- In-Chief of the SPLM/A Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon, delegates from the SPLM/SPLA state chapters in the United States of America converged in Omaha, Nebraska, on May 23, 2015 and held an election to elect the following

SPLM/SPLA positions for the USA region:

I. National Coordinator;
II. Youth League Liaison Officer;
III. Women’s League Liaison Officer

The following candidates contested the elections for the three positions as above: Mr. Chuol Buor Tang who hails from the SPLM Chapter in North Dakota and Mr. Sabata Ramba, from the SPLM Chapter in the State of Utah, contested the elections for the Coordinator position, and Cde. Matthew Dobuol Ruon from Minnesota, contested the elections for the Youth League position as the only candidate, whereas Mrs. Nyagile Thot and Mrs. Nyaruot Majiok, both from Nebraska, contested the elections for the Women’s League position.

The elections were supervised and observed by a supervisory team comprised of senior SPLM/SPLA leaders headed by Hon. Hussein Mar Nyuot, Chairman of the SPLM National Committee for Humanitarian Affairs, Hon. Agnes Nyoka Kenyi, Hon. Sophia Pal Gai and Mr. Martin Abucha and Hon. Reath Muoch, the SPLM/SPLA Representative to USA. These SPLM/SPLA dignitaries happened to be on peace mission in North America and were delegated by Dr. Riek Machar Teny-Dhurgon to undertake this important task.

An Election Commission comprised of Seven (7) members under the chairmanship of Mr. Mariano Mawein, the SPLM/SPLA Deputy Representative to USA, conducted the election process in which all the delegates were issued ballot papers that were carefully designed to reflect the actual balloting materials used in elections. The delegates lined up in a queue upon which they mark their ballots and cast them in the ballot box. When all the voting process was completed, the votes were then counted and tallied by the Election Commission and the Supervisory team. The final result of the elections were announced with the following contestants emerging as the winning candidates for the following positions:

I. Mr. Sabata Ramba/Coordinator Elect;
II. Mr. Matthew Dobuol Ruon/ Youth League Liaison Officer Elect-unopposed; and
III. Mrs. Nyagile Thot / Women’s League Liaison Officer Elect

All the three democratically elected leaders are expected to assume their responsibilities immediately.

The SPLM/SPLA Mission office in the United States of America, avails itself of this opportunity to congratulate all three leaders who have won their positions in a fair and free elections, and wishes them all the best of luck in their new assignments, and further assures them of its support in the discharge of their duties.

Signed by:

Santo Gabriel
Director of Information
The SPLM Mission, USA
Previous Post
A Platoon of the SPLA’s Commandos unit joins REMNASA
Next Post
Rights groups call on UN to relocate civilians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.